21 Jan 2014

Johnson wins Allan Border medal

6:01 am on 21 January 2014

Pace bowler Mitchell Johnson has won the Allan Border Medal as Australia's best cricketer of the year.

The left-arm quick picked up 168 votes to beat Test and one-day captain Michael Clarke who had 156 votes.

It was not all bad news for Clarke, who won the Australian Test player of the year award for a record fourth time and a third successive year.

Johnson missed the Ashes series in England earlier last year , but at home took 37 wickets as Australia won back the Ashes.

An emotional Johnson says all the hard work and the blood, sweat and tears that you go through and the ups and downs of a professional sportsman, all just came out tonight and he didn't expect to win.

George Bailey was named one-day player of the year a few hours after his omission from the Test squad to tour South Africa was announced.