19 Mar 2014

SANZAR admit referee mistake in Blues loss

5:53 pm on 19 March 2014

SANZAR has admitted the Lions were wrongly awarded a try in their 39-36 win over the Blues in Johannesburg on Sunday.

The Blues coach, Sir John Kirwan, had asked SANZAR's Game Manager, Lyndon Bray, for an explanation after the television match official awarded a try in the 60th minute when the ball appeared to have been knocked on by the Lions.

Bray says while the Blues' winger, Charles Piutau, had knocked the ball out of another player's hands as he made the tackle, he had not tried to get possession.

He says the onus is on the ball carrier to maintain possession, so it should have been ruled as a knock on and no try.