1 Oct 2009

New cricket Hall of Famers

6:54 am on 1 October 2009

The International Cricket Council has named five new inductees to the sport's Hall of Fame.

The retired Australian captain Steve Waugh joins two of his compatriots, the leg-spinner Clarrie Grimmett and the batsman Victor Trumper, alongside Pakistan paceman Wasim Akram and the late England opener Bert Sutcliffe.

The five newcomers bring the total number of players in the Hall of Fame to 60.

Inductees are selected from a long list of nominations by all 33 living members of the Hall of Fame along with ICC management.