10 Apr 2014

Two Aussies makes Wisden's top five

6:29 am on 10 April 2014

Two Australian cricketers, pace bowler Ryan Harris and opening batsman Chris Rogers have been rewarded for their performances in the two recent Ashes series by being included among Wisden's Five Cricketers of the Year.

The other three honoured by the 'bible of cricket', are the young England batsman Joe Root, India's Shikhar Dhawan and Charlotte Edwards, the captain of the England women's team.

The South African pace bowler Dale Steyn was named Wisden's Leading Cricketer in the World for 2013.

The five Cricketers of the Year have traditionally been selected primarily on their performances in the previous English season.

That would in part explain the absence of Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, who did not take part in the first Ashes series in England but played a decisive role in the second.

Charlotte Edwards is only the second woman to be named a cricketer of the year after she led England to back-to-back Ashes victories within the space of six months.