20 Oct 2009

Eleven players move provinces ahead of Super 14 selection

9:52 am on 20 October 2009

Eleven players have transferred to new provinces ahead of next month's selection of the Super 14 squads.

NZRU General Manager of Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen said the transfer practice gives flexibility and works well for players seeking more opportunity at Super rugby level, while having the ability to return to their home provinces for the domestic competition.

As already flagged, Zac Guildford will move from Hawkes Bay to Canterbury in a loan-back deal that lets the new All Black play for the Magpies again while turning out for the Crusaders in the Super 14, while his provincial team-mate Israel Dagg does a similar move again from Hawkes Bay to Otago, having spurned a similar switch to the Crusaders to stay with the Highlanders.

Fringe All Black Alby Matthewson transfers from Wellington to Auckland to improve his selection chances and the up and coming Robert Fruean moves from Wellington to Canterbury.

Craig Clarke has transferred from Taranaki to Waikato, Ross Kennedy transfers from Otago to Hawkes Bay, Ben Afeaki from North Harbour to Waikato, Hikawera Elliot transfers from Hawkes Bay to Waikato, James Paterson from Canterbury to Southland, and Michael Hobbs from Wellington to Otago.