20 Oct 2009

Golfers of yesteryear at Eisenhower Legends tournament

1:34 pm on 20 October 2009

Eight of New Zealand's leading amateur golfers of yester-year will take part in an Eisenhower Legends tournament at Christchurch's Clearwater Golf Club at the end of next month.

Sir Bob Charles, Ted MacDougall and Stuart Jones, all members of the 1958 Eisenhower golf team, will be joined by other notable Eisenhower players in Geoff Clarke, Ross Murray, Bruce Stevens and John Williamson.

It's 51 years since Sir Bob, MacDougall, Jones and the late John Durry played in the first Eisenhower at St Andrews.

The legendry Bobby Jones was captain of the United States team at this tournament.

Bob Glading is another well known player attending.

He won the New Zealand Open in 1946 as an amateur and again in 1947.

Although he didn't play in an Eisenhower, he played in the Commonwealth team in South Africa in 1959 along

with Charles, Durry, Jones, Murray and the late Ross Newdick.