23 Oct 2009

Changes to Pakistan cricket squads

6:02 am on 23 October 2009

Pakistan have dropped senior batsman Misbah-ul-Haq from the squad to play New Zealand and recalled opener Imran Farhat after nearly three years out of the team.

Pakistan are scheduled to play four one-day internationals and two Twenty20 matches against the Black Caps in Abu Dhabi and Dubai before travelling to New Zealand for a test series.

It is the first time 35-year-old Misbah has been dropped since he returned to the national team before the Twenty20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007.

There were also recalls for pace bowler Mohammad Asif, all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, Salman Butt and Khalid Latif.

Pakistan one-day squad for series in Abu Dhabi and Dubai:

Younus Khan (Capt), Shahid Afridi, Salman Butt Imran Farhat, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naved, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul, Muhammad Aamer, Rao Iftikhar, Wahab Riaz.

Twenty20 squad:

Shahid Afridi (Capt), Khalid Latif, Imran Nazir, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naved, Umar Gul, Muhammad Aamer, Rao Iftikhar, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Farhat, Fawad Alam, Sohail Tanvir

Test squad:

Younus Khan (Capt), Salman Butt, Khurrum Manzoor, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Malik, Fawad Alam, Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Danish Kaneria, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, Muhammad Asif, Muhammad Aamer, Abdul Rauf, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed.