4 Nov 2009

Wanganui gets eight players in Heartland 15

4:34 pm on 4 November 2009

Wanganui's winning form has seen eight of its players named in this year's Heartland 15 to play a New Zealand Marist 15 in Masterton on November 14.

The side's been named after the finals of the Meads and Lochore Cups, won by Wanganui, and North Otago.

The NZRU's provincial and community rugby general manager Brent Anderson says it was initially thought a Heartland 15 would not assemble this year so it's great to be able offer a match.

The team is: Cole Baldwin, Cameron Crowley, Matthew Gilbert, David Gower, Fraser Hammond. Peter Rowe, Aseli Tikoirotuma, Lasa Ulukuta (Wanganui), Josh Cornish, James Ferguson (West Coast),Jon Dampney, Jason Rickard (Mid Canterbury), Aarin Dunster, Kane Quinlan (King Country),Jason Forrest , Lei'ataua Limuloa-Tahafee (North Otago), Ben Hewitson (South Canterbury), Scott Leighton (Poverty Bay), Kevin Moore (Buller), Sione Ngatu (Poverty Bay), Nick Olson (Wairarapa Bush).

One player remains to be named and will be confirmed late this week.