10 Nov 2009

Draw made for Cricket World Cup

6:26 am on 10 November 2009

The New Zealand cricketers will open their World Cup campaign in February 2011 against Kenya in Chennai.

The draw and schedule has just been released by the ICC.

The Black Caps will then face defending champions Australia in Nagpur, Zimbabwe in Ahmedabad, Pakistan in Pallekele, Canada in Mumbai and Sri Lanka in Mumbai.

India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are together staging the 2011 event, with India hosting 29 of the tournament's 49 matches including the final at a renovated Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 2nd.

Pakistan was stripped of hosting rights over security concerns. They will play all their group matches in Sri Lanka.

In all, 13 venues will be used in the 43-day tournament.