13 Aug 2014

Tommy Smith withdraws from All Whites

11:55 am on 13 August 2014

The New Zealand footballer Tommy Smith will not play for the All Whites for a year after requesting a release from the international team.

Smith has not been included in the team to play Uzbekistan in Tashkent next month and New Zealand Football says it's agreed to grant him 12 months away from international selection.

Tommy Smith

Tommy Smith Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Ipswich Town defender missed the All Whites' last two friendly matches and admitted to being 'frustrated and annoyed' at having to miss a club game before the World Cup qualifiers against Mexico.

Meanwhile the West Ham star Winston Reid has been named in the squad to travel to Doha for the first time since injury ruled him out of last year's World Cup playoff.

The strikers Chris Wood and Kostas Barbarouses are also back after missing the recent fixture against South Africa.

The squad was selected by the interim coach Neil Emblen, and he says it will provide the incoming coach Anthony Hudson with an insight into the players as he looks to make plans for their bid to qualify for the 2018 World Cup.

Before meeting Uzbekistan in Tashkent on September 8, the All Whites will be in camp at the Aspire Academy along with the Junior All Whites who will play in an U-20 tournament in Doha against Morocco, Chile and Qatar.

All Whites (caps/goals):


Glen Moss (28/0 - Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Tamati Williams (1/0 - Glenfield Rovers/NZ)


Michael Boxall (9/0 - Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Andrew Durante (8/0 - Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Winston Reid (17/1 - West Ham Utd/ENG)

Storm Roux (3/0 - Central Coast Mariners/AUS)

Ben Sigmund (32/2 - Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Bill Tuiloma (4/0 - Olympique Marseille/FRA)


Cameron Howieson (8/0 - Burnley FC/ENG)

Chris James (18/2 - CS Sedan Ardennes/FRA)

Michael McGlinchey (27/3 - Central Coast Mariners/AUS)

Tim Payne (10/2 - unattached)

Ryan Thomas (2/0 - PEC Zwolle/HOL)


Kosta Barbarouses (25/2 - Melbourne Victory/AUS)

Tyler Boyd (2/0- Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Jeremy Brockie (43/0 - Wellington Phoenix/NZ)

Marco Rojas (18/0 - VfB Stuttgart/GER)

Chris Wood (34/12 - Leicester City/ENG)