1 Dec 2009

Manor GP to be named Virgin Racing in 2010 F1 season

7:58 am on 1 December 2009

The Manor GP Formula One team has been entered for the 2010 season as Virgin Racing.

The International Automobile Federation published the official entry list with 12 confirmed teams and lingering uncertainty over the entry previously held by Toyota.

The former BMW-Sauber team, now handed back to founder Peter Sauber following the departure of BMW at the end of the 2009 season, are likely to take Toyota's place having been assured already that they are the official reserves.

Richard Branson's Virgin Group sponsored championship-winning Brawn GP, who have since been taken over by Mercedes, this season.

Virgin have yet to formally confirm their involvement with British-based Manor, one of four new teams due to make their debuts on the starting grid. Manor have signed German driver Timo Glock.

The other newcomers are US F1, Campos Meta 1 and Malaysian-backed Lotus F1 Racing.

Red Bull, championship runners-up this year, confirmed they will continue with Renault engines after considering other options.

Britain's world champion Jenson Button will have the number one on his car at McLaren with new team mate, compatriot and 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton competing as number two. Button won the title with Brawn.