1 Oct 2014

All Blacks win Championship

11:30 am on 1 October 2014

The All Blacks have won the Rugby Championship for the third year in a row with a bonus point victory over Argentina at La Plata.

The All Blacks celebrate with the trophy

The All Blacks celebrate with the trophy Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Playing an exciting brand of counter attacking rugby, New Zealand overwhelmed the Pumas four tries to one in the 34-13 victory.

Israel Dagg and Ben Smith crossed the line for the visitors in the first half before tries to Julian Savea and TJ Perenara kept the All Blacks' undefeated record against the Pumas intact.

It took 11 minutes for New Zealand to score the opening try when Dagg ghosted through a gap during a back line move from a line out.

Five metres from the line, the fullback slipped the pass to winger Smith who crashed over for the try.

It wasn't long before the visitors found the line again through slick passing on the counter attack.

Smith returned the favour for Dagg putting the fullback into space 25 metres out to give the All Blacks a 20-6 half time lead.

After a quiet start to second half, the winger Savea crossed the line with 54 minutes gone, running through three tacklers to dot down under the posts.

Ten minutes later a Jerome Kaino break was finished by the substitue halfback Perenara for the bonus point try.

With the title secured for the third year in a row, New Zealand now travel to South Africa for their final match of the Championship next week in Johannesburg.