24 Jan 2015

Wellington women win T20 cricket title

3:24 pm on 24 January 2015

The Wellington women's cricket team has completely dominated the domestic T20 final, beating Otago by 10 wickets in Dunedin.

2014-15 Women's T20 cricket champions, Wellington.

2014-15 Women's T20 cricket champions, Wellington. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Otago captain Suzie Bates won the toss and decided to bat first and she top scored with 34 as the homeside was dismissed for just 97 in the last over.

Eimear Richardson and 14-year-old Amelia Kerr took 3 wickets each for Wellington.

In reply the Wellington openers got through to their target in the 16th over with Erin Burns scoring 59 and Rachel Priest 37.

Wellington bowler Amelia Kerr

Wellington bowler Amelia Kerr Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Wellington captain Suzie Bates says her team bowled very well, while the opening batsmen remained positive.

Bates says the Black Caps record-breaking Wellington batsmen Luke Ronchi and Grant Elliott spoke to them before the game which certainly helped.

The Wellington men also won the T20 title this summer.

Canterbury play Auckland in the one-day final tomorrow.