7 Mar 2015

Robertson wins 5000m in Wellington

12:18 pm on 7 March 2015

Jake Robertson gave a dominant front-running display to take the 5000 metres at the national track and field championships in Wellington on Friday.

Jake Robertson competing in the Men's 5000m.

Jake Robertson competing in the Men's 5000m. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The 25-year-old Kenyan-based athlete led from the start to win in a modest time of 14 minutes and three seconds, in very blustery conditions at Newtown Park.

Defending champion Malcolm Hicks was second, 14 seconds back.

His brother and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Zane Robertson was a late withdrawal from the race after injuring a calf on a training run the day before.

Camille Buscomb won the women's 5000 metres in 16 minutes 20 seconds, defending the title she won on the same track 12 months earlier and running some 12 seconds faster in the process.

Tauranga's Kodi Harman won the coveted senior men's 100 metres title in a windy 10.47 seconds, while Canterbury's Kelsey Berryman won the women's 100 in 11.88 after the disqualification of co-favourite Rochelle Coster for a false start.

Waikato Bay of Plenty's Cameron French defended his 400 metres hurdles title in one of the most impressive performances of the day, recording 50.28 seconds, a classy performance in the wind and wet.

Mackenzie Keenan of Canterbury beat defending champion Zoe Ballantyne in the women's hurdles with a time of 61.53.

Hamish Kerr was a surprise winner in the men's high jump, clearing a big personal best of 2.13 metres to defeat seven times champion Billy Crayford, who could only jump 2.09.

Portia Bing, in the first event of four at these championships, won the long jump title with a jump of 6.23 metres, beating defending champion Mariah Ririnui on 6.12.

Southland's Marshall Hall easily retained his discus title, throwing a season best 57.43 metres.

Nicole Bradley of Auckland came out on top in a close women's hammer competition, throwing 52.48 metres.

Canterbury's Courtney Ruske and Mike Parker of Auckland were the winners in the 3000 metres walk.