10 Mar 2015

Ogier wins Rally Mexico again

11:56 am on 10 March 2015

The French driver Sébastien Ogier has won Rally Mexico for the third straight year.

France's Sebastien Ogier during the Rally of Spain.

France's Sebastien Ogier Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Volkswagen driver finished a minute 19 seconds ahead of Mads Ostberg in a Citroën, with another Norwegian Andreas Mikkelsen in a Volkswagen third.

Ogier took the lead on the first day and was never headed.

He has won all three rounds so far this season.

New Zealand's Hayden Paddon finished 17th overall, 54 minutes off the winner.

Paddon fell down the standings on the second day when he suffered suspension damage and missed five stages.

The rules state that he is given the fastest drivers time, plus a seven minute penalty for each stage he missed.

The next round is in Argentina later this month.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.