29 Mar 2015

Hawke's Bay and Auckland reach final

6:32 pm on 29 March 2015

Hawke's Bay United have secured their first ever berth in the grand final of the national football premiership with a thrilling away win over Team Wellington.

Hawkes Bay's Mario Barcia celebrates after the final whistle.

Hawkes Bay's Mario Barcia celebrates after the final whistle. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

United will meet Auckland City in the final after City's 5-1 defeat of Waitakare United at Kiwitea Street.

Hawke's Bay overturned a semi-final first leg deficit at David Farrington Park in Wellington on Sunday with an extraordinary 4-3 second leg win.

Entering the second leg in a 2-1 hole after last week's first leg defeat in Napier, the visitors rebounded to go through to the final despite the aggregate score of both legs being 5-all.

They qualify courtesy of the away goals rule, scoring four as opposed to Wellington's two.

Hawke's Bay Utd 4 (Sean Lovemore 8', Ryan Tinsley (pen) 27', 71', Facundo Barbero 47')

Team Wellington 3 (Tim Myers 16', Ian Hogg 36', Bill Robertson 66')

HT: 2-2

Meanwhile, Auckland City FC clinched their spot in the final with a ruthless second leg defeat of Waitakere.

Entering Sunday's clash with a 2-0 advantage after last weekend's first leg, Auckland City effectively ended the contest in the first 20 minutes on Sunday, taking a 3-0 lead

They wnt on to win the leg 5-1 and the semi-finals 7-1 on aggregate.

Auckland City FC 5 (David Browne 13', 15', 60', Joao Moreira 17', Oscar Garcia 71')

Waitakere Utd 1(Derice Richards 63')

HT: 3-0