7 Jun 2015

Hamilton celebrates 44th pole

1:02 pm on 7 June 2015

Lewis Hamilton has celebrated a personal milestone after claiming his 44th pole position for this weekend's Canadian Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg, Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen.

Nico Rosberg, Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Raikkonen. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Hamilton just out-paced his Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg with the Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen in third.

Two-time champion, Hamilton who races as number 44, said it felt extra significant for him to secure his 44th pole on one of his favourite tracks and at the circuit where he gained his first pole and victory in 2007.

"I won my first Grand Prix here in 2007 and that was incredibly special for me so to be back here and get another pole, the 44th, that's very, very special for me,"Hamilton said.

Hamilton said he had forgotten all about the Mercedes pit stop fiasco at the Monaco Grand Prix and refused to allow two days of erratic practice to affect him despite a low speed crash into the barrier during a rain storm.

He warned that Ferrari would be a threat in the race despite the Mercedes team claiming their sixth front row lockout in seven races this year.

"Ferrari have picked up their pace this weekend, but fortunately, collectively as a team we've managed to at least maintain the pace that we had or try to improve in some areas, which is good," said Hamilton.

Ferrari's sebastien Vettel will start from 15th on the grid after mechanical problems during qualification and a five place grid penalty.

Vettel illegally overtook another car during practice under red flag conditions following a crash.

Starting grid for the Formula One Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes

2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes

3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari

4. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes

5. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Mercedes

6. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Mercedes

7. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes

8. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) RedBull - Renault

9. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) RedBull - Renault

10. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes

11. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - Renault

12. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - Ferrari

13. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren

14. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber - Ferrari

15. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari

16. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes

17. Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia - Ferrari

18. Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia - Ferrari

19. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren

20. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso - Renault