1 Jul 2015

Sodhi and Munro lose Black Caps contracts

1:18 pm on 1 July 2015

Spinner Ish Sodhi and all-rounder Colin Munro have been dropped from the Black Caps contracted player list.

The list for the next year includes one newcomer in all-rounder Mitchell Santner and two players, pace bowler Doug Bracewell and all-rounder Grant Elliott, return to the top 20.

Also missing from last year's contract list is Kyle Mills, who's retired from international cricket.

The top contract is worth $195,000 while the bottom two are worth $80,000.

Players also receive match payments which are $8000 for a Test, $3500 for a one dayer and $2300 for a Twenty20 game.

Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said Santner, a left-handed batsman and left-arm orthodox spin bowler, sealed his inclusion after an encouraging debut tour of England, where the 23-year-old played in all five ODIs and the Twenty20 match at Manchester.

"Mitch is a player of genuine all-round ability," said Hesson.

"His appearance on this list is recognition of where we see his skills in all three forms of the game. My feeling is that we'll see a lot more of him with the bat, in particular, as he gains more experience."

Mitchell Santner.

Mitchell Santner. Photo: Photosport

Hesson said Bracewell and Elliott had forced their way back onto the list through the sheer weight of their recent performances.

"Grant hasn't had a contract for a while, but returns on the back of excellent recent form, including at the World Cup. He's a valuable member of our short-form sides."

"Doug deserved to return. He's performed strongly and forced his way back into the fold - ultimately in longer-form cricket, although we continue to see him as a multi-skilled player."

Hesson said the depth of international quality players being developed in New Zealand could be gauged by the quality of those who missed out on this occasion.

Set criteria are used to rank players across all three forms of the game, with Tests receiving twice the weighting of ODIs and Twenty20s.

The players with the 20 highest aggregate scores are then offered NZC contracts.

The first round of Major Association contracts will be announced on 22 July 2015.

The 20 contracted players for the 2015/2016 year are:

Corey Anderson, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliott, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson