22 Jul 2015

Fisiiahi returns to Warriors

1:24 pm on 22 July 2015

Glen Fisiiahi is set for his first National Rugby League appearance in more than 15 months after being named on the wing for the Warriors game against Manly.

Will the Warriors flag be flying high this weekend as they try to overcome a humiliating loss to South Sydney?

Will the Warriors flag be flying high this weekend as they try to overcome a humiliating loss to South Sydney? Photo: Photosport

The two teams meet at Mount Smart Stadium on Saturday.

The 24-year-old's 2014 season ended with a shoulder injury against Cronulla in April last year, a week after he'd scored four tries in the club's victory over Wests Tigers.

After recovering from surgery, Fisiiahi made a try-scoring return in the Warriors' reserve grade side against Penrith in mid-April only to have his comeback disrupted by a knee complaint.

Since recovering from that setback Fisiiahi has scored four tries in three winning appearances for the club's table-toppingreserve grade side to earn his recall.

He comes onto the right wing for Tuimoala Lolohea, who moves into the centres for the injured David Fusitu'a.

Konrad Hurrell is out of contention after picking up a one-match suspension for a high tackle in Saturday's 24-22 reserve grade win over Illawarra.

Also not considered were injured veterans Manu Vatuvei (shoulder) and Ryan Hoffman (calf).

Vatuvei is expected to return for the round 22 match against the Dragons in Wellington on August the 8the while it's hoped Hoffman will be available to face the Sharks at Mount Smart Stadium in round 21 (August 1).

The rest of the starting line-up is unchanged from Sunday's 24-nil loss to the Sydney Roosters.

McFadden has also named the same four players used on the interchange while adding prop Sam Lisone, who comes up from the NSW Cup side after appearing in 13 NRL matches earlier in his rookie year.

The Warriors slipped to seventh on the ladder after their loss to the Roosters.


1 Sam Tomkins

2 Glen Fisiiahi

3 Tuimoala Lolohea

4 Solomone Kata

5 Jonathan Wright

6 Chad Townsend

7 Shaun Johnson

8 Jacob Lillyman

9 Nathan Friend

10 Ben Matulino

11 Bodene Thompson

12 Raymond Faitala-Mariner

13 Simon Mannering (C)


14 Siliva Havili

15 Sione Lousi

16 Sam Rapira

17 Albert Vete

18 Sam Lisone