28 Aug 2015

Folau named Australian rugby player of the year

12:50 pm on 28 August 2015

Wallabies fullback Israel Folau has been named Australia's rugby player of the year and becomes the first player to win the John Eales Medal in successive years.

Israel Folau against Argentina, 2013.

Israel Folau against Argentina, 2013. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

New South Wales Waratahs star Folau polled 138 votes to beat two flankers, the Brumbies' David Pocock (113) and NSW's Michael Hooper (108).

Waratahs utility back Adam Ashley-Cooper (98) and Western Force back-rower Ben McCalman (95) rounded out the top five.

Folau, only in his third year of playing rugby after time in the NRL and AFL, is just the third player to win the medal twice after flanker George Smith (2002, 2008) and lock Nathan Sharpe (2007, 2012).

The medal is voted for by the Wallabies' match-day squad on a 3-2-1 basis after each Test match.

The voting period for this year's medal took in the Tests from the 2014 spring tour to the second Bledisloe Cup Test against New Zealand earlier this month.

The three-code footballer recently signed a new three-year deal with the Australian Rugby Union and the Waratahs.

Folau also picked up the award for Super Rugby try of the year after being deemed most responsible for Tolu Latu's match-winning round-six five-pointer against the Brumbies.

Pocock, Hooper and fellow back-rower Sean McMahon were among other winners on the night.

Hooper won Australia's choice for Wallaby of the year for a third straight year after polling the highest fan vote on the Rugby.com.au website.

Pocock capped off a successful return from back-to-back season-ending knee injuries by winning the Australian Super Rugby player of the year award.

Melbourne Rebels star McMahon followed up his haul of three awards last year by being named Wallabies rookie of the year.

The Waratahs and their coach Michael Cheika were named Australian Super Rugby team and coach of the year respectively after they earned a second straight Australian conference title.

Towering Brumbies lock Rory Arnold was named Australian Super Rugby rookie of the year.

Other winners included Ed Jenkins (men's sevens player of the year), Sharni Williams (women's sevens player of the year), Ariana Kaiwai (women's player of the year) and Queensland flanker Michael Gunn (Australian under-20s player of the year).

Inducted into the Wallaby Hall of Fame were pre-World War Two hooker John 'Jock' Blackwood, post-war halfback Cyril Burke and modern era centre Tim Horan.