24 Oct 2015

Walker, Bias claim NI titles

5:56 pm on 24 October 2015

Olympic medallist Sarah Walker and North Harbour's Michael Bias have claimed the North Island BMX titles in Taupo.

Sarah Walker, 2011.

Sarah Walker, 2011. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The North Island event also doubled as a UCI Category One event, carrying Olympic qualifying points, which means that Walker now has the maximum five wins in C1 events. She was untroubled to win all three motos and the final to add to her C1 secured in North America.

Walker finished clear of fellow Cycling New Zealand high performance rider Hannah Sarten, who had two seconds and a third, with Gisborne's Monique Smith third overall.

Bias was equally emphatic in the elite men, winning all three motos and the final ahead of high performance rider Daniel Franks.

Third overall in the combined final was junior winner Codi Merito of Te Awamutu, who was a finalist this year at the world championships in the elite junior category.

Papakura's Zoe Fleming held off Te Awamutu's Rebecca Petch to win the junior women's honours.