6 Jan 2016

Ko claims more honours

4:46 pm on 6 January 2016

Lydia Ko has been honoured as the female player of the year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

Lydia Ko

Lydia Ko Photo: AFP

American Jordan Spieth won the male player of the year award and American veteran Jeff Maggert was named senior player of the year.

Ko edged Korean rival Inbee Park for the honour.

Ko claimed 56 per cent of the vote from the writers, Spieth claimed 98 per cent of the votes to leave Australian Justin Day in his wake and Maggert claimed 70 per cent of the votes to dominate second-placed Bernhard Langer.

Like Spieth, Ko won five times last year, including her maiden major victory at the Evian Championship and a successful defence of her Race to the CME Globe title. She also became the game's youngest world No 1.

"I'm so honoured to receive this award from the GWAA and I appreciate the recognition from the many media who cover the LPGA," Ko said.

"I am proud of what I accomplished in 2015 and I am working hard to continue achieving my goals this season."

Ko faces a trip to the hallowed Augusta National club to collect her title with all three winners to be honoured at the annual GWAA awards dinner on April 6 on the eve of the Masters tournament.