20 Feb 2016

All Blacks steal the show

6:39 am on 20 February 2016

The All Blacks stole the show at the Halberg Awards in Auckland.

They were named team of the year, Steve Hansen won coach of the year and the team won the coveted Supreme Halberg.

2016 Halberg winners the All Blacks


The winners

  • The Supreme Halberg award - the All Blacks
  • Team of the Year - the All Blacks
  • Sportsman of the Year - Black Caps batsman Kane Williamson
  • Sportswoman of the Year - Golfer Lydia Ko
  • Coach of the Year - All Blacks coach Steve Hansen
  • Disabled Athlete of the Year - Sophie Pascoe
  • Sporting moment of the year - Grant Elliot's match winning six against Australia.

In a night that celebrates great sporting achievement in New Zealand, the All Blacks once again outshone the competition.

The first award to go their way went to their coach Steve Hansen who beat the likes of Black Caps coach Mike Hesson and Hamish Wilcox, the coach of sailors Blair Tuke and Peter Burling.

Hansen, who guided the All Blacks to back-to-back titles at last year's World Cup, said he was humbled to be part of such a high pedigree of coaching talent.

"You're just privileged to be here amongst some good people," the coach said.

"New Zealand's a small place and our sporting history tells us that we bat well above our average and makes us proud to be New Zealanders."

Steve Hansen

Steve Hansen Photo: Photosport

Next up was the team of the year title, which they won over last year's runners-up at the Cricket World Cup - the Black Caps - and world champion rowers, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray.

That win meant the All Blacks went up for the supreme award against the Sportswoman of the Year, Lydia Ko, who claimed her first major title last year and finished the year as the No.1 women's golfer, and Kane Williamson, who won the Sportsman of the Year award after an outstanding year with the bat.

Also in the mix was Sophie Pascoe, who was named the Disabled Sportsperson of the Year.

The All Blacks were firm favourites for the trophy but it still came as somewhat of a surprise to their now retired captain Richie McCaw.

"The calibre of the men and women in the room tonight was pretty awesome so just to be able to celebrate that but also I guess, from our point of view, to take a moment to reflect on the success you have had that all the hard work has paid off, a night like tonight lets you do that."

The All Blacks were the first team to win back-to-back world titles at the World Cup in England last year. Throughout the year, the All Blacks only lost won match to the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship.

Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Kane Williamson said it was a great feeling to add another cricketing name to the list of winners of the Sportsman of the Year award.

"There's a reason there's a variety of names and so many different sports play at the highest level from people in this country and it's great to see different sports receive the awards."

A night to remember for the All Blacks means they have now won the Supreme Halberg three times, equalling shot putter Valerie Adams and rower Rob Waddell.

Lydia Ko, receiving last year's overall supreme Halberg Trophy.

Lydia Ko, receiving last year's overall supreme Halberg Trophy. Photo: Photosport

The finalists were selected by the Halberg Awards judges of former athletes, coaches and sports journalists, who reviewed 63 nominations submitted for six categories.