11 Mar 2016

Team Wellington claim first ASB Premiership title

6:20 am on 11 March 2016

Team Wellington claimed their first National Premiership football title with a dramatic 4-2 come-from-behind extra-time win over two-time defending champions Auckland City in Albany last night.

Team Wellington's Luis Corrales has a shot on goal in the final of the 2016 ASB Premiership.

Team Wellington's Luis Corrales has a shot on goal in the final of the 2016 ASB Premiership. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Down 2-1 with just two minutes remaining, Team Wellington staged a remarkable fightback, levelling via a Cole Peverley penalty and then scoring twice in the first half of extra time through league Golden Boot Ben Harris and Tom Jackson.

The result means the Wellington club secured qualification for the Oceania Champions League and closed the door on Auckland City's three-peat bid as well as their record 28-game unbeaten domestic run.

Jackson had earlier given his side 52nd minute lead with goal from the edge of the Auckland area before Joao Moreira pulled Auckland City level at 1-1 from the penalty spot.

The six-time champions then hit the front themselves with only nine minutes to go, piercing what had been an excellent Team Wellington defensive effort when Daewook Kim shook free of his marker and headed home from close range.

However there was another late twist as Team Wellington were fouled in the penalty area and Peverley duly converted to send the game to the extra time.

Harris then provided his typically decisive scoring contribution four minutes into the first period of extra time; volleying home in the aftermath of an Anthony Hobbs long throw.

Auckland City were soon under attack again, with Jackson curling a wonderful effort against Rivas' crossbar before it was cleared for a corner.

The corner kick was duly sent goalward and Jackson rose in the crowd to head it home for 4-2 and secure his side's first New Zealand Premiership title.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.