23 May 2016

Five newcomers in NSW Origin squad

3:13 pm on 23 May 2016

The New South Wales rugby league coach Laurie Daley has named five newcomers in a 19-man State of Origin squad for the opening match of the series next week.

Rookies Adam Reynolds, Matt Moylan Josh Mansour, Dylan Walker and Tyson Frizell have been named in Daley's 19-strong squad for game one in the best of three series.

Former NSW State of Origin coach Laurie Daley.

Former NSW State of Origin coach Laurie Daley. Photo: Photosport

James Maloney returns to the Blues halves, to partner Reynolds, for the first time since the 2013 series.

Incumbent halves Mitchell Pearce and Trent Hodkinson have been dropped.

Beau Scott has also been dumped alongside Will Hopoate.

Daley said he named a 19-man squad to cover for injury.

osh Dugan is one player under an injury cloud due to an elbow problem.

"We have a couple of players in doubt, we don't have to name a team for a while, so we will see how it goes," Daley said.

However Robbie Farah, who missed last weekend's Wests Tigers win due to concussion is confident he will take the field for game one on Wednesday week.

NSW squad: Greg Bird, Boyd Cordner, Josh Dugan, Blake Ferguson, Andrew Fifita, Tyson Frizell, Paul Gallen, Josh Jackson, Michael Jennings, David Klemmer, James Maloney, Josh Mansour, Josh Morris, Matt Moylan, Adam Reynolds, James Tamou, Dylan Walker, Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah.