10 Nov 2016

Black Ferns up against Canada in World Cup pool

6:39 am on 10 November 2016

New Zealand has been drawn with Canada, Wales and a qualifier for next year's Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland.

Black Ferns captain Fiao'o Fa'amausili

Black Ferns captain Fiao'o Fa'amausili Photo: Photosport

The Black Ferns won the tournament four times from 1998 to 2010, while Canada were runners-up in 2014.

The Black Ferns failed to reach the semi-finals in 2014.

Hosts Ireland in a difficult pool alongside France, Australia and a qualifier.

Holders England join USA, Italy and a Europe 3 qualifier to make up Pool B.

The tournament is scheduled for August.

The games will be played at University College Dublin with the semi-finals and finals at Queen's University Belfast and Kingspan Stadium.

Last weekend Fiji beat Papua New Guinea in the Oceania Championship final and they'll now take on Hong Kong and Japan for the final two World Cup spots.

Samoa, a regular at the World Cup, were not allowed to play the Oceania Championship because they didn't have a domestic competition.

Women's Rugby World Cup draw...

Pool A: Canada, New Zealand, Wales, Asia/Oceania 2

Pool B: England, USA, Italy, Europe 3

Pool C: France, Ireland, Australia, Asia/Oceania 1