13 Dec 2016

First Ashes Test under lights confirmed

2:16 pm on 13 December 2016

Australia will host England at the Adelaide Oval in the first-ever day-night Ashes cricket Test during the 2017-18 series.

Adelaide Oval at night.

Adelaide Oval at night. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Cricket Australia announced the schedule on Tuesday, with the yet-to-be-completed 60,000-capacity Perth Stadium a chance to host the third Test instead of the WACA.

However, the most notable part of the schedule is the confirmation of the day- night Test at Adelaide Oval - which has already hosted two very popular pink- ball Tests - between December 2nd and 6th.

The Gabba will host the first Test starting on November 23rd having lost the summer opener this year against South Africa.

The traditional Boxing Day Test at the MCG and New Year's match at the SCG has also been confirmed.

CA chief executive James Sutherland said moving back the Perth Test to mid- December will offer the best chance for construction of Perth Stadium to be finished.

"The decision to start the international season in Brisbane, then moving to Adelaide, allows us to give Perth Stadium the best chance to host the Test match," Sutherland said in a statement.

"So we can welcome an even bigger crowd to Perth next summer."

Sutherland said that given the later-than-usual start to the series, the schedule will allow for at least three Sheffield Shield matches to be played before the Brisbane opener.

England will get their first taste of pink-ball cricket against the West Indies at Edgbaston in August.

Following the Test series, a five-match one-day international series between the two countries begins at the MCG on January 14.

Australia will then play England and New Zealand in a six-match Twenty20 tri- series in February, with three games at home and three in New Zealand before the final at Eden Park in Auckland.


First Test: Gabba - 23-27 November 2017

Second Test: Adelaide Oval (Day-Night) - 2-6 December 2017

Third Test: Perth (venue TBC) - 14-18 December 2017

Fourth Test: MCG - 26-30 December 2017

Fifth Test: SCG - 4-8 January 2018