15 Dec 2016

Nominees for Halberg Awards announced

2:46 pm on 15 December 2016

The nominations for this year's Halberg sports awards have been announced, with 31 sports represented in the shortlists.

All Black Beauden Barrett, mixed martial arts exponent Brayden Graham, rally driver Hayden Paddon, boxer Joseph Parker, rower Mahe Drysdale and runner Nick Willis are among the Sportsman of the Year nominees.

Beauden Barrett

Beauden Barrett Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Those in contention for the Sportswoman of the Year award include current winner golfer Lydia Ko, Olympic canoe gold medallist Lisa Carrington, shot putter Valerie Adams, and pole vaulter Eliza McCartney.

Lisa Carrington

Lisa Carrington Photo: Photosport

The All Blacks - the current supreme Halberg Award winners - have again been nominated for the Team of the Year along with 16 other teams including rowers Hamish Bond and Eric Murray.

2016 Halberg winners the All Blacks

The All Blacks won the Supreme Award for 2015. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Rio medallists Sophie Pascoe, Cameron Leslie, Liam Malone, Mary Fisher and Nikita Howarth have all been nominated as the Paralympic Athlete of the Year.

Liam Malone crosses the line for his second gold medal of the Rio Paralympics.

Liam Malone on his way to gold at the Rio Paralympics. Photo: Photosport

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen again heads the list of nominees for Coach of the Year.

The finalists will be announced in January, with the winners named in February.

Sportsman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award) nominees:

Beauden Barrett (Rugby), Brayden Graham (Mixed Martial Arts), Byron Chivers (Mixed Martial Arts), Chris Wood (Football), Danny Lee (Golf), George Bennett (Cycling), Hayden Paddon (Motorsport), John Kennard (Motorsport), Joseph Parker (Boxing), Jossi Wells (Snow Sports), Mahe Drysdale (Rowing), Max Beattie (Surf Life Saving), Nick Willis (Athletics), Peter Michael (Skating), Sam Gaze (Cycling), Sam Meech (Yachting), Shane Van Gisbergen (Motorsport), Shannon McIlroy (Bowls), Steven Adams (Basketball), Tom Walsh (Athletics), William Trubridge (Diving), Winston Reid (Football).

Sportswoman of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award) nominees:

Abby Erceg (Football), Amy Satterthwaite (Cricket), Christy Prior (Snow Sports), Eliza McCartney (Athletics), Laura Quilter (Surf Life Saving), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Luuka Jones (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Natalie Rooney (Shooting), Portia Woodman (Rugby), Valerie Adams (Athletics), Zoe McBride (Rowing).

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award) nominees:

Amy Jane MacDonald (Para-Waka Ama), Anna Grimaldi (Para-Athletics), Cameron Leslie (Para-Swimming), Corey Peters (Para-Skiing), Liam Malone (Para-Athletics), Mary Fisher (Para-Swimming), Nikita Howarth (Para-Swimming), Rick Dodson, Andrew May, Chris Sharp (Para-Sailing), Sophie Pascoe (Para-Swimming).

Team of the Year (Eligible for the supreme Halberg Award) nominees:

Women's 49erFX - Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (Yachting), All Blacks (Rugby), Black Ferns (Rugby), Blackjacks Men's Fours - Mike Nagy, Mike Kernaghan, Blake Signal and Ali Forsyth (Bowls), Haden Paddon and John Kennard (Motorsport), Men's 49er - Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (Yachting), Men's Blackjacks (Bowls),Men's Pair - Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (Rowing), New Zealand Black Fins (Surf Life Saving), New Zealand Golf Croquet Team - Chris Clarke, Jenny Clarke, Duncan Dixon, Phillip Drew and Mike Crashley (Croquet), Paddle Ferns (Canoeing), Rowing Women's Eight (Rowing), Rowing Women's Pair - Rebecca Scown and Genevieve Behrent (Rowing), Squash New Zealand World Doubles Team (Squash), Team Sprint - Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster (Cycling), The Hurricanes (Rugby), Women's 470 - Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (Yachting).

Coach of the Year:

Anthony Peden (Cycling), Brent Ward (Para-Athletics), Chris Boyd (Rugby), Dale Stevenson (Athletics), Gordon Walker (Canoeing), Hamish Willcox (Yachting), James Mortimer (Para-Athletics), Jason Pocock (Surf Life Saving), Jeremy McColl (Athletics), Jim Maloney (Yachting), Kiwi Campbell (Waka Ama), Mark Howard (Yachting), Nathan Handley (Yachting), Raylene Bates (Para-Athletics), Roly Crichton (Para-Swimming), Sean Thompson (Snow Sports), Simon Mayne (Para-Swimming), Steve Hansen (Rugby).