31 Dec 2016

Black Caps sweep Bangladesh

7:10 pm on 31 December 2016

New Zealand have swept Bangladesh in the One Day International (ODI) cricket series, after winning the third game in Nelson by eight wickets.

The Black Caps chased down their target of 237 in the 42nd over.

Captain Kane Williamson and Neil Broom put on a record second wicket partnership for New Zealand of 179 runs.

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson.

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson, pictured, and Neil Broom brought the team to victory against Bangladesh in Nelson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Williamson finished unbeaten on 95, while Broom fell just short of his second straight century when he fell for 97.

Earlier in the chase, Tom Latham made four and Martin Guptill retired hurt on six after injuring his hamstring.

Jimmy Neesham was 28 not out.

After the match, Williamson said he was proud of his side's performance.

"The most positive thing was that we improved throughout each match and today was far more of a complete performance that we were after.

"A lot of credit to our boys who were smart on this surface, but also a lot of credit to Bangladesh in conditions that they're not entirely used to and we had to play at our best today to get across the line."

A middle-order batting collapse had limited Bangladesh to 236 for nine.

Blackcap player Martin Guptill during the 3rd ODI ANZ International Series match. New Zealand Blackcaps v Bangladesh.

Martin Guptill - pictured before his hamstring injury - retired after six, as New Zealand picked up the bat against Bangladesh in Nelson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

After putting on a 102-run opening stand through Imrul Kayes (44 runs) and Tamim Iqbal (59), the Tigers were only able to accrue 51 from their No 3 to No 6 batsmen.

Wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan then saved the side from embarrassment with a quick-fire 44 as lower-order batsmen fell around him in the dead rubber.

Look back at today's live scoring and commentary here

New Zealand paceman Matt Henry snared two wickets, while spinners Mitchell Santner, Jeetan Patel and Williamson all conceded four runs or fewer per over.

Bangladesh cricketer Imrul Kayes.

Bangladesh cricketer Imrul Kayes in action Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The two sides will now meet in a three-match T20 series before playing two Tests.

- RNZ / Reuters / AAP