24 Jan 2017

Australian cricketer of the year to miss NZ series

9:56 am on 24 January 2017

Australian batsman David Warner and Usman Khawaja will miss the Chappell-Hadlee one day cricket series in New Zealand next week.

Usman Khawaja and David Warner.

Usman Khawaja and David Warner. Photo: Photosport

Warner is being rested, while Usman Khawaja will also not be part of the squad as he heads to Dubai early for a training camp ahead of the Test tour of India.

Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh have both been called in to a 14-man squad for the the three games in New Zealand, and are likely to form the opening combination.

Meanwhile Warner won the Allan Border Medal for the second year in row, becoming only the fourth player to achieve that feat.

The 30-year-old was also named Australia's one-day player of the year following a prolific 2016 during which he scored 2,420 international runs in all formats of the game.

He joined Ricky Ponting, Shane Watson and Michael Clarke as the only players to win Australian cricket's greatest individual honour in successive years.

"Thanks to my team mates and (Australia captain) Steve Smith - without you all I wouldn't be here as it's a team game," Warner said in a Cricket Australia statement.

"To the fans, we love the support you give, we love entertaining you and I think the game's in a great state at the moment," he added.

"Thanks, too, to the past players as we wouldn't be able to live the dream without what you did before us."

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc was named Australia's test player of 2016 and all-rounder Watson took the Twenty20 award in his final year of playing for his country.