7 May 2017

Scott McLauglin claims race one at Perth Super Sprint

7:17 am on 7 May 2017

New Zealand driver Scott McLaughlin has claimed his first official race victory of the 2017 Australian Supercars Championship in race one of the Perth SuperSprint.

Scott McLauglin

Scott McLauglin Photo: Mark Horsburgh EDGE Photographics

McLaughlin led from start to finish to cross the line first in front of Ford teammate Fabian Coulthard.

The 1-2 finished brought much delight to the duo's team owners, Dick Johnson and international motorsport legend Roger Penkse, who both watched on from the team's garage.

Penske even joined his drivers on the podium to celebrate their dominant victory.

In third and eight seconds behind the Ford duo was Holden Racing Team's Jamie Whincup.

Fourth was defending Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen while 2016 Perth SuperSprint race winner Mark Winterbottom finished fifth.

McLaughlin is now gearing up for a 200km race this afternoon, where the Perth SuperSprint champion will be crowned.