20 Jun 2017

McCallum signs for new T20 league

8:05 am on 20 June 2017

Cricket South Africa has launched its new T20 Global League in London, with former Black Cap captain Brendon McCallum among the international players already signed up.

Brendon McCullum in action for Middlesex.

Brendon McCullum in action for Middlesex. Photo: Supplied/Middlesex Cricket

The competition, hoping to emulate the success of competitions such as India's IPL and Australia's Big Bash, is set to start in November, with the final to be played on December 16th.

Former Black Cap captain Brendon McCullum is among a number of marquee players already signed up. Others include former England batsman Kevin Pietersen, West Indian Chris Gayle and current England limited overs players Eoin Morgan and Jason Roy.

The owners include film actor and producer Shah Rukh Khan, who also has a stake in the Indian Premier League side Kolkata Knight Riders, and the GMR Group, who own the Delhi Daredevils.

"We are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success," said Cricket South Africa president Chris Nenzani said.

Teams will be hosted in eight centres around South Africa: Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth, Stellenbosch and Benoni.

Almost 400 players from 10 countries have confirmed their interest in being part of the draft.