27 Jul 2017

Crusaders unchanged, Chiefs make three

5:22 pm on 27 July 2017

The Crusaders coach Scott Robertson has named an unchanged line up for their Super Rugby semi final match against the Chiefs in Christchurch on Saturday.

No caption


The same Crusaders side that beat the Highlanders on a wet and miserable night last Saturday at AMI Stadium will face the Chiefs - a side they've already beaten twice this season.

Meanwhile the Chiefs midfielder Charlie Ngatai has made a full recovery from an ankle injury in time for the match and has been named at second-five-eighth for the match.

Ngatai's return is one of just three from the Chiefs team that beat the Stormers in their quarter final match in Cape Town.

Stephen Donald has been forced back onto the Chiefs bench to make way for Ngatai while Tim Nanai Williams has been promoted to the right wing position.

Coach Dave Rennie has once again chosen loose forwaard Mitchell Brown at lock ahead of Dominic Bird following a standout few weeks from Brown.

Crusaders team to play the Chiefs:

1. Joe Moody

2. Codie Taylor

3. Owen Franks

4. Scott Barrett

5. Sam Whitelock (C)

6. Jordan Taufua

7. Matt Todd (VC)

8. Kieran Read

9. Bryn Hall

10. Richie Mo'unga

11. Seta Tamanivalu

12. Ryan Crotty (VC)

13. Jack Goodhue

14. Israel Dagg

15. David Havili


16. Ben Funnell

17. Wyatt Crockett

18. Michael Alaalatoa

19. Luke Romano

20. Pete Samu

21. Mitchell Drummond

22. Mitchell Hunt

23. George Bridge

Chiefs side to face the Crusaders:

1. Kane Hames

2. Nathan Harris

3. Nepo Laulala

4. Mitchell Brown

5. Brodie Retallick

6. Liam Messam

7. Sam Cane - Co-captain

8. Michael Leitch

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow

10. Aaron Cruden - Co-captain

11. James Lowe

12. Charlie Ngatai

13. Anton Lienert-Brown

14. Tim Nanai-Williams

15. Damian McKenzie


16. Liam Polwart

17. Aidan Ross

18. Atu Moli

19. Dominic Bird

20. Lachlan Boshier

21. Finlay Christie

22. Stephen Donald

23. Shaun Stevenson