23 Dec 2017

Kitchen in line for Black Caps debut

4:24 pm on 23 December 2017

Anaru Kitchen is in line to make his international cricket debut, having been named in the Black Caps Twenty20 squad for the three-match series against the West Indies.

Otago Volts' Anaru Kitchen fields against Northern Districts in the Ford Trophy cricket match earlier this year.

Otago Volts' Anaru Kitchen fields against Northern Districts in the Ford Trophy cricket match earlier this year. Photo: Photosport

Martin Guptill has also been named in the squad after an injury lay-off.

Trent Boult will miss the first two matches as part of a planned break, while Tim Southee will captain the opening match in Kane Williamson's absence.

Black Caps selector Gavin Larsen said it was a balanced squad.

"I think there are more explosive batting options in this squad than ever before," said Larsen.

"When you add Anaru Kitchen to the likes of Colin Munro, Martin Guptill, Glenn Phillips and Tom Bruce, there's a lot of threats throughout the batting line-up.

"Anaru has performed superbly for Otago the past couple of seasons and with his ability to bowl as well, he brings a lot to the side."

Larsen said there was still plenty of experience in the squad.

"Tim Southee will captain the first match while Kane Williamson is away and Ross Taylor will replace Kane's experience in the batting line-up.

"It's a luxury to be able to bring in two such experienced players for these roles and it shows the depth we have.

"It will be nice to see Martin Guptill come back from injury. He's made good progress and recently trained with the side in Whangarei. Every side in the world is aware of how dangerous a player Martin is."

The three match series begins in Nelson on 29 December.

Twenty20 squad

Tim Southee - Northern Districts (captain 1st T20)

Doug Bracewell - Central Districts

Tom Bruce - Central Districts

Lockie Ferguson - Auckland

Martin Guptill - Auckland

Matt Henry - Canterbury

Anaru Kitchen - Otago

Colin Munro - Auckland

Glenn Phillips - Auckland

Seth Rance - Central Districts

Mitchell Santner - Northern Districts

Ish Sodhi - Northern Districts

Ross Taylor - Central Districts (1st T20)

Coming in

Kane Williamson - Northern Districts (2nd and 3rd T20)

Trent Boult - Northern Districts (3rd T20)

*Colin de Grandhomme will return to the squad once back in New Zealand following the passing of his father. This date is not yet known.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.