8 Jun 2010

India recall regulars for Asia Cup in Sri Lanka

6:37 am on 8 June 2010

India has recalled several first-choice players for this month's Asia Cup one-day cricket competition in Sri Lanka after the team's disappointing performance in a tri-series in Zimbabwe.

The regular captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, batsmen Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir, spinner Harbhajan Singh and paceman Zaheer Khan are included after being rested for the Zimbabwe tournament in which India lost three out of four matches and did not make the final.

India's top batsman Sachin Tendulkar, however, has been rested for the June 15-24 competition involving holders Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh.