8 Jun 2010

NSW name 21-man squad

9:13 am on 8 June 2010

The depth of New South Wales' injury and suspension woes have forced selectors to take unprecedented action with a 21-man squad including five doubtful starters named to take on Queensland in next week's must-win State of Origin rugby league clash in Brisbane.

In what amounts to a 24-hour stay of execution as Jarryd Hayne and Luke Lewis put their Origin fate in the hands of the NRL judiciary, selectors named eight new faces from the side defeated in game one including rookie trio Beau Scott, Jason King and Canberra sensation Josh Dugan.

But Scott and Dugan are both under an injury cloud as is prop Michael Weyman, their predicament adding to the confusion for selectors.

Veteran halfback Brett Kimmorley has surely played his last game in the sky blue after being dropped in favour of Mitchell Pearce, while Josh Perry was the other casualty with Manly pair Jamie Lyon and Anthony Watmough both not considered due to injury.

There were recalls for Trent Barrett, Paul Gallen, Luke O'Donnell and Nathan Hindmarsh, but just how many of that group make the final cut remains unclear, with coach Craig Bellamy refusing to confirm any definite starters including game one skipper Kurt Gidley's spot in the starting line-up.