22 Nov 2010

Australia swimmer first across Auckland Harbour

5:42 am on 22 November 2010

Australia's Codie Grimsey has won Auckland harbour swim, dominating a strong field to complete the crossing from Bayswater to the Viaduct in 33 minutes18 seconds.

The 19-year-old beat the defending champion Bryn Murphy of Dunedin by 20 seconds with a young Aucklander Matthew Stanley third.

The Australia-based New Zealander Cara Baker won the women's race in 36min 15sec, more than two minutes ahead of Lauren Boyle, who pipped another Aucklander and fellow Olympian Melissa Ingram by one second.

The next event in the Ocean Swim Series is the Russell to Paihia race on December 11.