3 Nov 2011

Marshall named standoff of the year

1:00 pm on 3 November 2011

The Kiwis captain Benji Marshall has provided the only relief in the Australian domination of rugby league's international awards dinner in London.

Marshall won the standoff of the year awards with Australians winning eight of the nine positional awards.

Marshall was nominated for player of the year but that went to Australian Billy Slater.

Brisbane winger Jharal Yow Yeh was named the rookie of the year while Manly's Des Hasler was named coach of the year.