12 Nov 2011

Penney to coach under-20s

2:50 pm on 12 November 2011

The Canterbury ITM rugby coach Rob Penney has been selected to coach the New Zealand under-20 side.

Penney guided Canterbury to their fourth straight national title this year.

Penney will be assisted in the under-20 role by newly-appointed Wellington Lions coach Chris Boyd and Waikato and Chiefs assistant coach Scott McLeod, who played 17 times for the All Blacks from 1996 to 1998.

The under-20 side will defend their IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa in June next year.

Consistent with the NZRU commitment to utilise the under-20 coaching positions to assist with coach development, this year's coaches Mark Anscombe and Jason O'Halloran were not considered for reappointment.

Forty seven players from around the country have been selected to join a New Zealand under-20 development camp in Palmerston North from 21 - 28 November.

The Under 20 development camp players are:

Gafatasi Su'a Auckland

Ofa Tuungafasi Auckland

Junior Tofa-Va'a Auckland

Sean Brookman Auckland

Albert Nikoro Auckland

Malakai Fekitoa Auckland

Milford Keresoma Auckland

Jordan Lay Auckland

Jake Heenan Auckland

Michigan Lam Auckland

Bryn Hall Auckland

Nathan Harris Bay of Plenty

Jeff Thwaites Bay of Plenty

Martin Swart Canterbury

Jordan Taufua Canterbury

Nick Ross Canterbury

James Schrader Canterbury

Taniela Manu Canterbury

Jimmy Tupou Counties Manukau

Ihaia West Hawke's Bay

Rhys Marshall Hawke's Bay

Michael Gardner Manawatu

Tepasu Thomas Manawatu

Hamish Northcott Manawatu

Mac Sykes Northland

Glenn Preston North Harbour

Jack Whetton North Harbour

Pita Ahki North Harbour

Soloman T.Pole Otago

Hugh Blake Otago

Scott Eade Southland

Michael Fatialofa Southland

Martin McKenzie Southland

Tuki Raimona Southland

Reuben Northover Tasman

James Lowe Tasman

Mike Wells Tasman

Jamison Gibson-Park Taranaki

Jacob Proctor Waikato

Eli Atkins Waikato

Haami Martin Waikato

Fraser Armstrong Waikato

Joe Latta Wellington

Christian Lloyd Wellington

Ope Peleseuma Wellington

Matt Proctor Wellington

Eric Sione Wellington