14 Dec 2011

Forty eight nominations for Halberg Awards

6:43 pm on 14 December 2011

The All Blacks are among the leading contenders for the 2011 Halberg awards for outstanding performances by New Zealand athletes at home and abroad.

Forty eight nominations have been received across five categories.

World Cup winning All Blacks Richie McCaw and Jerome Kaino are among the 14 nominations for sportsman of the year.

World champion shot putter Valerie Adam heads a list of seven nominees for the sportswoman category.

Nine teams have been nominated for Team of the year including the All Blacks, the Breakers basketball side and Hamish Bond and Eric Murray, who're one of three rowing combinations.

There are also nine nominations for coach of the year, including retiring All Blacks coach Graham Henry and rowing's Dick Tonks, while there are seven nominees for the disabled athlete of the year.

The four finalists in each category won't be announced until the New Year with the winners named on February 9th.