28 Feb 2012

Michael Clarke named Australian cricketer of the year

9:59 am on 28 February 2012

The Australian cricket captain Michael Clarke has won his third Allan Border medal for the nation's cricketer of the year.

That places him second on the all-time list, trailing only ex-skipper Ricky Ponting who has claimed the award four times in its 13-year history.

The 30-year-old Clarke polled 231 votes from players, media and umpires with Mike Hussey second on 174 and Shane Watson third with 166 in the voting period from February 6 2011 to 24 February 2012.

Clarke claimed the Test award but only after triumphing in a countback from Ponting.

Clarke's Test season included five centuries highlighted by his unbeaten 329 in last month's Sydney Test against India.

Allrounder Shane Watson (553 runs and 11 wickets in 17 matches) beat Clarke (799 runs in 21 games) on a countback to claim the ODI award.

Legspin great Shane Warne, who announced his international retirement in 2007, was inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

David Warner, who hit two centuries in his debut Test summer, won the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Award.