29 Dec 2012

Four new members join Waitangi Tribunal

6:29 am on 29 December 2012

A former Labour Government minister has been appointed to the Waitangi Tribunal.

Paul Swain has also worked as a Crown Treaty settlement negotiator and most recently chaired an inquiry into the use of foreign-owned charter vessels.

Miriama Evans, Dr Rawinia Higgins and Nick Davidson are the other new members.

They will join Professor Sir Hirini Mead, who has been reappointed to the Tribunal.

The new members take up their roles on 1 January.