31 May 2013

Young Maori farmer finalists

8:00 pm on 31 May 2013

Finalists in the Ahuwhenua Young Maori Farmer of the Year Awards have been announced - this year targeting sheep and beef farmers.

It's the second year of the competition, which is part of the Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Maori Excellence in Farming Award.

This is the first time the Young Maori Farmer award celebrated young sheep and beef farmers, after it was aimed at dairy farmers last year with Tangaroa Walker from Toa Farms in Southland winning.

The two finalists are:

Te Moana or Tem Sidney who is a junior shepherd at the Mount Herbert Station in Waipukurau and Jordan Smith who is a shepherd general for the Kearins Bros Limited in Te Kuiti.

The award is open to Maori aged 16 to 25 years who are employed on sheep and beef farms across the country.

The winner will be announced on Friday 7 June.