1 Aug 2013

Three Treaty bills pass first reading

7:30 pm on 1 August 2013

Three bills giving effect to Treaty of Waitangi settlements for a collective of iwi unanimously passed their first readings in Parliament on Thursday.

The Nga Mana Whenua o Tamaki Makaurau Collective Redress Bill, which is between 13 iwi and hapu, would provide redress for shared interests in volcanic cones and other assets in the Auckland region.

The Maungaharuru-Tangitu Hapu Claims Settlement Bill includes compensation of $23 million and the return of culturally significant sites in Hawke's Bay.

Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Minister Christopher Finlayson told Parliament the negotiations have been hard fought, but the hapu can now look forward to a better future.

The third bill, which settles historical claims of three Rotorua iwi, includes the return of several sites of significance and more than $12 million.

The bills will be considered by the Maori Affairs Select Committee.