8 Mar 2015

Te Matatini final nine chosen

3:19 pm on 8 March 2015

The nine teams that will go through to the final round of the national Maori performing arts festival have been chosen.

45 teams have been battling it out at Christchurch's Hagley Park since Thursday.

Te Matatini

Te Matatini Photo: RNZ

After 3 days of 45 teams from across New Zealand and Australia powering it out on stage, the Te Matatini judges have made their decision as to who the 9 teams will be to compete in the finals tomorrow.

The nine teams are:

  • Te Waka Huia from Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland)
  • Nga Tumanako also from Tamaki Makaurau
  • Opotiki Mai Tawhiti from the Mataatua region, Eastern Bay of Plenty
  • Te Kapa Haka o Whangara Mai Tawhiti from the Tai Rawhiti, East Coast
  • Te Matarae I o Rehu from the Te Arawa, Rotorua
  • Te Pou o Mangatawhiri from the Tainui Waikato
  • Te Whanau a Apanui from the Mataatua, Eastern Bay of Plenty
  • Te Iti Kahurangi from the Tainui Waikato
  • Waihirere from Tai Rawhiti

The first group to perform tomorrow just before 9am will be Te Pou o Mangatawhiri.

Te Matatini started on Thursday.

Each of the 45 teams have to perform across a range of Toi Haka - compulsory and non-compulsory performance disciplines.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs