3 Jul 2015

New leader for Māori Language Commission

10:16 am on 3 July 2015

The Māori Language Commission has appointed a new head to lead the organisation following the sudden death of its previous chair, Erima Henare.

Dr Wayne Ngata

Doctor Wayne Ngata will now lead the Maori Language Commission. Photo: RNZ / Laura Bootham

Doctor Wayne Ngata is now the toihau, or leader of the Crown entity.

Dr Ngata, of Te Āitanga ā Hauiti, Ngāti Ira and Ngāti Porou, has served as a commissioner in the past.

The Māori Development Minister, Te Ururoa Flavell, said Dr Ngata will build on Mr Henare's legacy and bring his extensive knowledge of te reo Māori and the education sector to the role.

Two new commissioners have also been appointed for three years; Professor Rawinia Higgins and Charisma Rangipunga.