7 Jul 2018

Te Rōpū Raukura win kapa haka champs for second year running

11:29 am on 7 July 2018

Te Rōpū Raukura, from Rotorua Boys' and Rotorua Girls' High, has won the national secondary schools kapa haka competition for the second time in a row.

Te Rōpū Raukura

Te Rōpū Raukura Photo: Supplied

The reigning champions were among eight other groups that competed in the finals yesterday in Palmerston North.

Ngā Taiatea Wharekura received second prize and Ngā Puna o Waiorea came third.

More than 1500 students from 41 schools across Aotearoa competed over the week.

The top nine groups include Raukura, Te Maurea Whiritoi, Te Kapa Haka o Te Wharekura o Hoani Waititi Marae, Te Piringa, Ngā Taiātea Wharekura, Te Kura Māori o Ngā Tapuwae, Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Rāwhitiroa, Te Wharekura o Rākaumangamanga, Ngā Puna o Waiorea.

The next competition will be hosted by Tamaki Makaurau in Auckland in two years time.