23 May 2016

We won a thing!

10:36 am on 23 May 2016

On Friday night, something unexpected happened – the judges for the Canon Media Awards named us Website of the Year.

No caption

Photo: Unknown

We put our hearts and souls into telling stories for New Zealand’s digital generation. There’s a staff of just four people who are dedicated to making this happen week in, week out plus an ever-evolving crew of contributors.

However you measure it, we’re a small team. 

But we’re 100 percent committed to what we do: reporting original stories that educate, enlighten and entertain. Stories that matter. 

And while the team is small, the talent is big.

Tess McClure with her Junior Feature Writer of the Year trophy and certificate.

Tess McClure with her Junior Feature Writer of the Year trophy and certificate. Photo: Supplied

Tess McClure won Junior Feature Writer of the Year for a portfolio of work that included this great piece, and work from her previous position at Fairfax. She’s an incredibly versatile journalist, who has been working on video and podcast projects as well as writing longform.

Luke McPake makes amazing video for us; he was a finalist for Videographer of the Year and Best Feature Video.

Toby Morris won a Canon Media Award for his column with Toby Manhire, though you’ll also know him for his sensational Wireless series, The Pencilsword.

There are other people who are just as vital.

Mava Moayyed is a champion for voices who aren’t often heard in the media, and chases stories with absolute determination.

Rebecca Kamm lights up our concept of what’s possible with her creativity and her beautifully crafted writing.

Hussein Moses is turning the site into a go-to for the freshest music content in New Zealand.

Then there’s the likes of Ellen Falconer, Jess McAllen, John Lake, Julian VaresEzra Simons and Gussie Larkin, who have helped form the unique Wireless voice over the past year.

The backing of RNZ and NZ On Air makes what we do possible.

And what we do, we do for our audience.

That's you.