26 Aug 2012

Change of govt in NT

11:08 am on 26 August 2012

The Northern Territory in Australia has a new Country Liberal government.

The ABC reports country voters deserted the ruling Labor party on Saturday, ending 11 years of ALP rule. The swing in the bush vote was almost 15%.

The election night count in Darwin showed the Country Liberal Party had won 14 seats and Labor eight. Thirteen seats were required for victory and the CLP could win 16. The ALP previously held 12 seats.

An Independent holds the 25th seat in the chamber, after being re-elected for a fourth term in a rural seat.

Voters "asked for change - and change they will get" said CLP leader Terry Mills on Saturday night after Chief Minister Paul Henderson conceded defeat.

Mr Mills vowed to "bring the Territory together again".