11 Feb 2013

Four Queensland councils to vote on secession

6:00 pm on 11 February 2013

Residents of four former council areas in far north Queensland will vote to secede from their current councils next month.

The Queensland Electoral Commission announced on Sunday that residents of the former Douglas, Mareeba, Livingston and Noosa council areas will vote on 9 March.

In 2008 the previous state Labor government forced 157 councils to amalgamate into 73 to save money.

Local government minister David Crisafulli said in December that the boundaries commissioner recommended that four councils wishing to scrap the mergers should each hold a referendum, where people would need to weigh up whether it was worth the costs.